14th Year Anniversary of 9/11

Ground Zero Memorial

By John David Van Hove

Fourteen years ago on this day I was soaking at Stewart Hot Springs in Northern California enjoying a one-day retreat and massage. I heard musings about the attack on the World Trade Center there, but didn’t take it seriously until the next day when I returned to my offices at the Ashland Resource Center on Oak Street across from the Historic Ashland Armory and saw live news coverage for the first time. The news anchors were babbling incoherently as the events were unfolding before our eyes.

I knew then and understood clearly that my life, all our lives would change forever in America. For those who survived, for those who died and for those who bravely gave their lives in service to others may you be forever blessed and remembered.

Six years ago I went to Ground Zero and took this picture looking out from an adjacent building.

Resources:

Leave a Reply

